Contact : +33(0)473 17 02 17 ou/or videoformes@videoformes.com

Focus Papay Gyro Nights

Papay Gyro Nights, Papa Westray & Hong Kong / presentation by TSZ-MAN CHAN, Frog King Fondation, Hong Kong

Friday the 17th of March – 5.30pm
Maison de la culture
Salle Boris Vian

Papay Gyro Nights is taking a place in unique settings of extreme remoteness of the island Papay, in the North Atlantic, and in the time of extreme winter weather conditions.
The idea of the festival has originated from the ancient Papay tradition of The Night of The Gyros (or Gygr, Gryla, Grylur, Grøleks, Skeklers as its know in other Nordic countries), which till the beginning of 20s century was celebrated on the island in the first full moon of February. Against as reconstructing what is gone and almost forgotten, the Festival is a reflection on the folktale, the island’s landscape and heritage, as well as interpretation of tradition and ritual, through new developments in art and architecture.
The Festival is a Research lab, learning hub and the place for a discussion about interaction between new media and ideas in relation to tradition, ritual and island’s landscape and heritage.
During the Festival the Island is transformed into the art space and artworks are screened and exhibited in old farm buildings, boat house, workshops, ruins and open landscape.

Website

Tsz Man Chan, co-founder of the Papay Gyro Nights Festival

She is the co-founder of Papay Gyro Nights Art Festival and a visual artist. In the past decade, she worked side by side with visual artists and practitioners in art’s field. She is developing transdisciplinary research through visual art, sound art, architecture, anthropology, philosophy, folklore. She lives in a small island of North Pacific and works between her little island and Hong Kong.

PROGRAM

Rikke Benborg is a film and video artist, living and working in Copenhagen. Educated from The Royal Danish Academy of fine art (MA visual arts), and from Middlesex University in London (BA hons fine art).

Broken

Rikke Benborg / 2016

My works often attempt to explore the illogic of dreams and the unconscious. I prefer surreal fragmented narratives as oppose to traditional cinematic storytelling. Film for me becomes a tool for exploring the logic and the poetics of the image. I often include elements of animation in my work. Animation, with it’s ability to make the inanimate come alive, and make the hidden apparent, almost have an alchemistic quality and thus it encompasses everything magic, oscure and un?
That quality attracts me.
I am similarly seduced by everything theatrical: the gestures and melancholy of early silent film, in particular, and all sorts of work that deals with unrealistic aesthetics, masks and dressing up in weird costumes.
I often work in a formal, minimal language, but strangely I feel informaed by all the opposites.

I bring sleep

Rikke benborg / 2015

8mm film transferred to video.

Concept, Camera, Sound, Edit: Rikke Benborg
Lighting: Christian Alkjær
Costumes, scenography: Rikke Benborg, Sian Kristoffersen
Props: Fie Norsker, Majken Schultz
Styling: Fie Norsker
Stage manager: Sian Kristoffersen
Performers: Stinne Storm, Majken Schultz, Mikkel Olaf Eskildsen
Special thanks: Betty Nansen Teatret, Copenhagen

Silent block

Cédric Dupire / 2013

Silent Block is the primitive meeting and the fight between a man made of flesh and a shopping cart made of metal.
The time is suspended, it is the meditation of the fight.

Carte noire, AT

Michaela Grill / 2014

Born:1971 in Austria. She has studied in Vienna, Glasgow and London. Since 1999 various film/video works, installations and live visuals; various performances in Austria and abroad. Lives and works in Vienna.

White flashes in the dark of the night. As though etched out, dabbed in. Flickering specters, ghostly visions. A veritable phantom ride, a film of tension.
In ‘carte noire’, Michaela Grill’s sinister road movie miniature, she continues her cinematic movement from an object’s abstraction to its alienation. She now arrives at a classical, and highly charged motif from popular culture and cinema: the lonely car ride on an empty road through the countryside, which more or less automatically sets off trans-genre associations. Not only at the surprising end, one can assume that hinted at here, among other things, is a “lost highway,” based loosely on David Lynch.
The film is based on a subjective, straight ahead shot, with a view of the asphalt strip of road including the middle stripe. First it disappears behind a knoll, then surfaces again and leads to the next hill. One seems to make out a sparse steppe landscape on the sides, a gently rising mountain on the horizon. The digital processing has turned it into a negative image in flickering black-and-white, like oil pastels on dark board. It is a scarce two-and-a-half minute fragment of a nocturnal drive on precarious terrain, endowed with a quivering, uncanny sound by Andreas Berger. The asphalt vibrates and the horizon lightens. The motor rattles and view blurs. An imaginary trip. Film noir. carte noire. Based loosely on David Byrne, we’re on the road to nowhere. The little owl is waiting.

(Isabella Reicher)

Candice

Mademoiselle L / 2014

Architect, film maker/editor, Mademoiselle L. lives and works in Paris. Her very first short film Diatomée has swiftly turned into a ‘corps-métrage’ concept, as she defines her work, then to a triptych titled Claire Obscure and Malojá, thanks to various collaborations as the acclaimed one with Steven Severin for Malojá during the Nouveau Cinéma Festival of Montreal in October 2010 and at the London Tate Britain in December 2010. Her work on demand of Pieter Nooten’s piece of music ‘Slowed’ reveals the paramount of her sensitivity, it was hosted at FiFi gallery NYC-Miami-Mexico city, premiere in Mexico city in January 2013.

 

“A WANDER OF A LONELY WONDERING WOMAN. HER EYES AND THE SURROUNDED LANDSCAPES MAKE ONE MIND. A WOMAN IN WATERMARK. THE ONDULATIONS OF TIME WITHIN STRAIGHT BLACK AND GREY LINES AS ANTI CLOCKWISE OF HER EXISTENCE.” ML (October 2013)

SEED variations

Nicola Schauerman graduated with an MA from the Lansdown Centre for Electronic Arts, Middlesex University in 2006. She is the founding member of the art group Genetic Moo, who have presented work at numerous British venues including the Tate Modern, Whitechapel Gallery, Exploding Cinema, Area10 and the Bargehouse, and at international film festivals in Venice, Munich and New York. Nicola has taught film and video production in Further Education since 2000.

Tim Pickup has worked in multi-media art and programming for over 10 years. He has produced short films, games and toys for the internet, electronic music and radio programmes. He received an MA in Digital Arts from Camberwell College of Arts in 2009.
Since 2006, Schauerman and Pickup have worked on a series of interactive video installations which have been presented at a number of UK venues, including the De La Warr Pavilion. One of the works, Becoming Starfish, received a John Lansdown Award for Interactive Digital Art at Eurographics 2007

SEED variations consists of a series of algorithmically constructed video sequences. Film of our bodies in motion is first split into frames then loaded into a handwritten Java program which applies tinting, rotation and movement. The patterns are defined by mathematical formula and inspired by flowers, seeds and pollen shapes. Slowly the film is rendered frame by frame – usually hundreds of thousands of edits will be involved many more than we could manage by hand.

Maison de la Culture

Maison de la Culture
Salle Boris Vian
Rue Abée de l’Épée
63000 Clermont-Ferrand

Contact : +33(0)473 17 02 17 ou/or videoformes@videoformes.com

Focus Papay Gyro Nights

Papay Gyro Nights, Papa Westray & Hong Kong / présentation de TSZ-MAN CHAN, Frog King Foundation, Hong Kong

Vendredi 17 mars à 17h30
Maison de la culture
Salle Boris Vian

Papay Gyro Nights Art est un festival dont le projet s’axe autour du multimédia, de l’art vidéo, de l’art sonore, du film expérimental, de la musique, de l’architecture, des folklores et des interactions transdisciplinaires. Le festival se déroule dans deux environnements contrastés : sur l’île de Papa Westray en Atlantique nord et à Hong Kong. Il propose aussi des programmes de tournées dans d’autres pays comme l’Islande, la Norvège, la Serbie, les îles Féroé, la Suède et autour du Royaume-Uni… Plutôt que de se concentrer sur des formes d’art conventionnelles, le festival en explore les limites et les frontières.

Site Web

Tsz Man Chan, co-fondatrice du Papay Gyro Nights Festival

PROGRAMME

Broken

Rikke Benborg / 2016

Rikke Benborg est vidéaste et vit à Copenhague. Elle est diplômée de l’Académie royale des beaux-arts du Danemark (master en arts visuels) et de l’université du Middlesex de Londres (licence beaux-arts).

 

« Mon travail tourne souvent autour de l’irrationalité des rêves et de l’inconscient. Je préfère les récits surréalistes et fragmentés à la narration cinématographique traditionnelle. Le film est un outil qui me permet d’explorer la logique et la poésie de l’image. J’intègre souvent des éléments d’animation dans mes films. L’animation, de par sa capacité à faire vivre l’inanimé et à révéler ce qui est caché, possède un côté quasi alchimique et s’empare ainsi de tout ce qui est magique et obscur.
Cette qualité m’attire beaucoup.
J’aime également tout ce qui est théâtral : les gestes et la mélancolie des premiers films muets en particulier, et de tout ce qui a trait à l’esthétique surréaliste, les masques et les costumes étranges.
J’utilise un langage formel et minimaliste dans mon travail, mais paradoxalement, c’est dans le contraire que je me nourris. »

I bring sleep

Rikke Benborg / 2015

Film 8mm converti en format vidéo
Concept, caméra, son, montage : Rikke Benborg
Éclairage : Christian Alkjær
Costumes, scénographie : Rikke Benborg, Sian Kristoffersen
Accessoires : Fie Norsker, Majken Schultz
Coiffures : Fie Norsker
Régie : Sian Kristoffersen
Interprétation : Stinne Storm, Majken Schultz, Mikkel Olaf Eskildsen
Merci au Betty Nansen Teatret de Copenhague

SILENT BLOCK

Cédric Dupire / 2013

Silent Block est la rencontre primitive et le combat entre un homme de chair et un caddie de métal.
Le temps est suspendu, c’est la méditation de la lutte.

carte noire, AT / CA

Michaela Grill / 2014

Née en 1971 en Autriche.
Études à Vienne, Glasgow et Londres. Depuis 1999, elle a réalisé de nombreux films et vidéos, installations et performances visuelles. Elle s’est produite en Autriche et à l’étranger.
Elle vit à Vienne.

Des éclairs blancs dans la nuit. Comme une gravure, ou de petites touches de peinture. Spectres clignotants, visions fantomatiques. Un véritable panorama, une tension palpable.

Dans carte noire, road movie miniature et sombre, Michaela Grill poursuit son mouvement cinématographique partant de l’abstraction d’un objet pour aller vers son aliénation. Elle choisit ici un sujet classique et très fort de la culture populaire et du cinéma : un trajet en voiture sur une route de campagne déserte – ce qui évoque immédiatement une multitude de genres. Si la fin peut surprendre, on ne peut s’empêcher de penser à une « lost highway » librement inspirée de David Lynch.

Le film consiste en un plan subjectif qui avance sur une route goudronnée dont on voit défiler la ligne centrale. La route disparaît derrière un monticule puis resurgit et rejoint la colline voisine. On aperçoit un paysage de steppe de chaque côté, et une montagne en pente douce à l’horizon. Le traitement numérique l’a transformée en une image négative, un noir et blanc clignotant qui évoque des traits au pastel sur un tableau noir. Bref fragment – deux minutes et demie –d’un trajet nocturne sur un terrain accidenté, avec une bande-son frémissante et inquiétante d’Andreas Berger. L’asphalte vibre et l’horizon s’éclaire. Le moteur gronde et la vue se trouble. Un voyage imaginaire. Un film noir. carte noire. Librement inspiré de « Road to Nowhere » de David Byrne. La petite chouette vous attend.

(Isabella Reicher)

CANDICE

Mademoiselle L / 2014

« Promenade d’une femme solitaire et pensive. Ses yeux et le paysage qui l’entoure ne faisant qu’un. Une femme en filigrane. Les ondulations du temps sont les lignes noires et grises des aiguilles antihoraires de son existence… »

ML (Octobre 2013)

Architecte, réalisatrice et monteuse, Mademoiselle L. vit à Paris. Son tout premier court métrage Diatomée est bientôt devenu un « corps-métrage », comme elle définit son travail, puis un triptyque intitulé Claire Obscure et Malojá, grâce à de nombreuses collaborations dont une avec Steven Severin pour Malojá lors du Festival du nouveau cinéma de Montréal en octobre 2010 et au Tate Britain de Londres en décembre 2010. Sa sensibilité est révélée lors d’une commande pour accompagner le morceau « Slowed » de Pieter Nooten, un projet porté par la FiFi Gallery de New York, Miami, Mexico et montré en avant-première à Mexico en janvier 2013.

SEED variations

Genetic Moo / 2015

Nicola Schauerman a obtenu un master au Lansdown Centre for Electronic Arts de l’université du Middlesex, en 2006. Elle a fondé le groupe d’artistes Genetic Moo, qui a présenté des œuvres dans de nombreux lieux en Grande-Bretagne, dont la Tate Modern, Whitechapel Gallery, Exploding Cinema, Area10 et Bargehouse, ainsi que sur des festivals internationaux de cinéma, à Venise, Munich et New York. Nicola est professeure de cinéma et de vidéo dans l’enseignement supérieur depuis 2000.

Tim Pickup travaille dans l’art multimédia et la programmation depuis une bonne dizaine d’années. Il a réalisé des courts métrages, des jeux pour internet, des musiques électroniques et des émissions de radio. Il a obtenu un master en arts numériques au Camberwell College of Arts en 2009.

Depuis 2006, Schauermann et Pickup collaborent sur une série d’installations vidéo interactives qui ont été montrées dans plusieurs lieux en Grande-Bretagne dont le De La Warr Pavilion. Une de leurs œuvres, Becoming Starfish, a reçu le prix John Lansdown des arts numériques interactifs à l’Eurographics 2007.

SEED variations consiste en une série de séquences vidéo construites par algorithme. Des images filmées de corps en mouvement sont d’abord découpées en plusieurs plans fixes, traités par un logiciel Java qui ajoute nuances, rotation et mouvements. Les figures sont définies par formules mathématiques et s’inspirent de formes de fleurs, de graines et de pollen. Petit à petit, le film est créé, image par image – en général des centaines de milliers de possibilités surgissent, bien plus que ce que l’on pourrait obtenir à la main.

Maison de la Culture

Maison de la Culture
Salle Boris Vian
Rue Abée de l’Épée
63000 Clermont-Ferrand