Contact : +33(0)473 17 02 17 ou/or videoformes@videoformes.com

Tribute to Charlotte Moorman

TRIBUTE TO CHARLOTTE MOORMAN
Performance originale by JORIS GUIBERT
Presentation by JEAN-PAUL FARGIER
Screening of the movie ‘Topless Cellist’ – Charlotte Moorman by Howard Weinberg & Nam June Paik (1995, 29′)

16th of MARCH – 8.45pm
Salle Boris Vian
Maison de la Culture

It has already been a quarter of a century that Charlotte Moorman (1933-1991) left us, we who saw video elevated to the rank of art more than modern (postmodern?) by its founder (in 1963), the Korean, Nam June Paik (1932-2006). For more than twenty years, Charlotte and Nam June crisscrossed the world (Boston, Venice, New York, Paris, Berlin, Tokyo, etc.) to demonstrate through rousing performances a theorem as essential and irrefutable as that of Archimedes: a body plunged in an electronic flow exerts a horizontal and vertical thrust, universal and global, equal to all the effects of live TV taking place at the same time and by all the televisions in the world. A theorem on which all the avatars of the art known as video are built. In the age of all things digital, we might forget. That is why it is just and necessary to celebrate Charlotte Moorman’s time on earth. As we’ll do it here tonight.

Jean-Paul Fargier

Jean-Paul Fargier, born in 1944 in Aubenas, spent a good deal of time writing about cinema, television and video art in all kinds of publications (Téléciné, Les Cahiers du Cinéma , Cinéthique, art press, Turbulences Vidéo) and making movies and videos in all sorts of formats (including a hundred documentaries for television). In addition to a novel (Atteinte à la fiction de l’Etat, 1978, éd. Gallimard), he published a dozen critical essays (on Bill Viola, Nam June Paik, Godard). Ah yes, for forty years he taught cinema, television, video art and the relationships between them at the University of Paris VIII (Vincennes then Saint-Denis). Now he pretends he’s retired to Goudargues.

Joris Guibert is a visual artist and a teacher in cinema aesthetics in Lyon. His approach combines a practical dimension with a theoretical one. For one year, he wrote an essay on video, experimental cinema and audiovisual performance in Revue & corrigée. His research has been published in Turbulences vidéo, L’autre musique, and the Canadian academic journal Cinémas. His films and installations have been shown at such events as Bruits (Cité du Cinéma, Institut ACTE Sorbonne University Paris 1 & CNRS, ENS Louis-Lumière), and at exhibitions in such structures as the Film Gallery (éditions Re:voir), La Mostra (off Biennale Internationale de Design of St. Etienne). His audiovisual performances were created in places such as the Cité des Sciences et de l’Industrie (Vision’R, Paris), the Subsistances (Mirage festival, Lyon), and the Sporobole Art Center (Canada).

Contact : +33(0)473 17 02 17 ou/or videoformes@videoformes.com

Hommage à Charlotte Moorman

HOMMAGE À CHARLOTTE MOORMAN
Performance originale de JORIS GUIBERT
Présentation de JEAN-PAUL FARGIER
Projection du film ‘Topless Cellist’ – Charlotte Moorman de Howard Weinberg & Nam June Paik (1995, 29′)

16 MARS – 20H45
Salle Boris Vian
Maison de la Culture

Déjà un quart de siècle que Charlotte Moorman (1933-1991) nous a quittés, nous les spectateurs de la vidéo élevée au rang d’art plus que moderne (postmoderne ?) par son fondateur (en 1963), le coréen, Nam June Paik (1932-2006). Pendant plus de vingt ans, Charlotte et Nam June sillonnèrent le monde (Boston, Venise, New York, Paris, Berlin, Tokyo, etc) pour démontrer par des performances ébouriffantes un théorème aussi essentiel et irréfutable que celui d’Archimède : tout corps plongé dans un flux électronique exerce une poussée horizontale et verticale, universelle et globale, égale à la totalité des effets de Direct ayant cours au même moment dans et par toutes les télévisions du monde. Théorème sur lequel s’édifient tous les avatars de l’art dit vidéo. A l’ère du Tout Numérique on risque de l’oublier. C’est pourquoi il est juste et nécessaire de célébrer le passage de Charlotte Moorman sur terre. Comme nous le ferons ici ce soir.

Jean-Paul Fargier

Violoncelliste, performeuse, organisatrice d’événements, Charlotte Moorman est une protagoniste charismatique de l’avant-garde musicale new-yorkaise des années 1960. En 1963, elle fonde L’Avant-Garde Festival, qu’elle dirigera jusqu’en 1982. Elle y rencontrera Nam June Paik ; leur complicité durera jusqu’à sa mort.

Jean-Paul Fargier, né en 1944, à Aubenas (07) a passé pas mal de temps, depuis cinquante ans, à écrire sur le cinéma, la télévision, l’art vidéo dans toutes sortes de publications (Téléciné, Les Cahiers du Cinéma, Cinéthique, art press, Turbulences Vidéo) et à faire des films, des vidéos dans toutes sortes de formats (dont une centaine de documentaires pour la télévision). Il a publié outre un roman (Atteinte à la fiction de l’Etat, 1978, éd. Gallimard) une dizaine d’essais critiques (sur Bill Viola, Nam June Paik, Godard). Ah oui aussi, pendant quarante ans il a enseigné le cinéma, la télévision, l’art vidéo et leurs rapports à l’Université Paris VIII (Vincennes puis Saint-Denis). Maintenant il fait semblant d’être en retraite à Goudargues (30).

Joris Guibert est vidéaste plasticien et enseignant en esthétique du cinéma à Lyon.
Sa démarche hybride une dimension pratique à une dimension théorique. Il a écrit durant un an dans Revue & corrigée un essai sur la vidéo, le cinéma expérimental et la performance audiovisuelle.  Ses travaux de recherche ont été publiés dans les revues Turbulences vidéo, L’autre musique, et la revue universitaire canadienne Cinémas. Ses films et installations ont été diffusés lors d’événements tels Bruits (Cité du Cinéma, Institut ACTE Université Sorbonne Paris 1 & CNRS, ENS Louis-Lumière), et à travers des expositions au sein de structures telle la Film Gallery (éditions Re:voir), La Mostra (off Biennale Internationale du Design de St Etienne). Ses performances audiovisuelles ont été réalisées dans des lieux comme la Cité des Sciences et de l’Industrie (Vision’R, Paris), les Subsistances (Mirage festival, Lyon), ou encore le Centre d’art Sporobole (Canada).