Contact : +33(0)473 17 02 17 ou/or videoformes@videoformes.com

École Nationale Supérieure d’Art de Dijon

École Nationale Supérieure d’Art de Dijon

The École Nationale Supérieure d’Art et Design d’espace de Dijon is an institution under the supervision of the Ministry of Culture and Communication. It offers a high level of education (undergraduate and graduate level) and prepares students for the Diplôme National Supérieur d’Expression Plastique. With an international vision, it puts forward three specific research axes: Painting and Color, Art & Society, and Urban Changes. Its image and new media division is part of these three approaches and develops numerous local and international partnerships that promote research, creation and dissemination of works.

L'atelier

The videos presented come from a Research and Creation Workshop and a workshop that took place in 2015 and 2016.

‘Territoires à l’Écran’, is a Research and Creation Workshop proposed by Germain Huby, a visual artist and professor of cinema-video, and Vanessa Desclaux, a curator and professor of art history.

Twenty students from the 2nd to the 5th year, enrolled in the Art and Space Design departments, took part in this workshop supervised by three artists, Claire Malrieux, Till Roeskens and Safia Benhaim. The production gave rise to a collective exhibition in the church of Saint Philibert in Dijon.

Through their proposals, students explored and invented new territories that question our relationship to others and the world. The works presented bear the imprint of the omnipotence of the technologies of connectivity and the image industry, the way in which they shape our practices and our viewpoints. To think of one’s own territory is to try to escape and to resist this formatting in favor of new relational and poetic forms.

‘Don’t Think’, a workshop proposed by Germain Huby to students from the first to the 5th year lasts for a period of five days.

On the basis that we all undergo religious, political, aesthetic, moral, economic conditioning and that our society, through a conquering media system, engenders models of life, imposes stereotyped behaviors, dictates attitudes, discourses and ways of behaving, students questioned the forms that this daily conditioning took and gave an artistic response to this research through video.

http://germainhuby.blogspot.fr/

The selection :

Territoires / Jonathan Couturier / 2016 / 3’ (extrait)

Jonathan Couturier explores the spaces of video game and records the landscapes that he travels through, thanks to a computer tool. The images on the screen testify to his travels in these territories. The texture of the digital landscape is transformed by the machine. The screen becomes a painting, and the pixel becomes the paint. The two hemispheres of the image successively share the surface of the screen. The pictorial territory convokes the mental territory.

Technic : Compositing / HD 1920X1080

Going Places / Andréa Spartà / 2015 / 3’

Imagined as the extension of the “Horse of Turin” by director Béla Tarr (2011), this video presents a character who has lost everything and is waiting to get everything back. He walks, in the dark and in the snow, to reach the mountain. Little by little everything disappears…

Technic : Animation numérique / HD 1920X1080

Compas / Justine Taillard / 2015 / 4’10

In the middle of a kitchen, a young woman turns around and around, obstinately following the camera lens in motion. A strange race in an unstable setting, an egocentric carousel where the body that continues on loses its cadence. How to stay within the framework of a hurried system that never runs out of steam?

Technique : APN / HD 1920X1080

Contact : +33(0)473 17 02 17 ou/or videoformes@videoformes.com

École Nationale Supérieure d’Art de Dijon

École Nationale Supérieure d’Art de Dijon

L’École Nationale Supérieure d’Art et Design d’espace de Dijon est un établissement sous tutelle du Ministère de la Culture et de la Communication. Elle propose un enseignement de haut niveau (1er et 2e cycles universitaires : Licence et Master) et prépare les étudiants au Diplôme National Supérieur d’Expression Plastique. Tournée vers l’international, elle met en avant trois axes de recherches spécifiques : Peinture et Couleur ; Art & Société ; Mutations urbaines. Son pôle image et nouveaux médias s’inscrit dans ces trois approches et développe de nombreux partenariats locaux et internationaux qui favorisent la recherche, la création et la diffusion des œuvres.

L'atelier

Les vidéos présentées sont issues d’un Atelier de Recherche et de Création et d’un workshop qui se sont déroulés en 2015 et 2016.

Territoires à l’Écran, Atelier de Recherche et de Création proposé par Germain Huby plasticien et professeur de cinéma-vidéo et Vanessa Desclaux commissaire, professeure d’histoire de l’art.

Vingt étudiants de la 2ème à la 5ème année, inscrits dans les départements art et design d’espace, ont participé à cet atelier encadré par trois artistes, Claire Malrieux, Till Roeskens et Safia Benhaim. La production a donné lieu à une exposition collective dans l’église Saint Philibert de Dijon.

À travers leurs propositions, les étudiants ont exploré et inventé de nouveaux territoires qui questionnent notre rapport aux autres et au monde. Les œuvres présentées portent l’empreinte de l’omnipotence des technologies de la connectivité et de l’industrie des images, de la manière dont elles façonnent nos pratiques et notre regard. Penser son propre territoire c’est tenter d’échapper et de résister à ce formatage au profit de nouvelles formes relationnelles et poétiques.

Don’t Think, workshop proposé par Germain Huby aux étudiants de la première à la 5ème année sur une durée de cinq jours.

Partant du principe que nous subissons tous un conditionnement religieux, politique, esthétique, moral, économique et que notre société, via un système médiatique conquérant, engendre des modèles de vie, impose des comportements stéréotypés, dicte des attitudes, des discours et des conduites à tenir, les étudiants ont interrogé les formes qu’adopte ce conditionnement au quotidien et ont donné une réponse plastique à cette recherche par le biais de la vidéo.

http://germainhuby.blogspot.fr/

La sélection :

Territoires / Jonathan Couturier / 2016 / 3’ (extrait)

Jonathan Couturier explore les espaces du jeu vidéo et enregistre, grâce à l’outil informatique, les paysages qu’il traverse. Les images à l’écran témoignent de ses voyages dans ces territoires. La texture du paysage numérique se transforme sous l’effet de la machine ; l’écran se fait tableau, et le pixel devient peinture. Les deux hémisphères de l’image se partagent successivement la surface de l’écran. Le territoire pictural convoque le territoire mental.
Technique : Compositing / HD 1920X1080

Going Places / Andréa Spartà / 2015 / 3’

Imaginée comme le prolongement du « Cheval De Turin » du réalisateur Béla Tarr (2011), cette vidéo présente un personnage qui a tout perdu et qui attend pour tout retrouver. Il marche, dans le noir, dans la neige, pour rejoindre la montagne. Peu à peu tout disparaît…
Technique : Animation numérique / HD 1920X1080

Compas / Justine Taillard / 2015 / 4’10

Au milieu d’une cuisine, une jeune femme tourne en rond, suivant obstinément l’objectif de la caméra en mouvement. Etrange course dans un décor instable, manège égocentrique où le corps qui s’acharne perd la cadence. Comment rester dans le cadre d’un système pressé qui lui, ne s’essouffle jamais ?
Technique : APN / HD 1920X1080