Contact : +33(0)473 17 02 17 ou/or videoformes@videoformes.com

Institut d’études scéniques, audiovisuelles et cinématographiques (Beyrouth)

Institut d’études scéniques, audiovisuelles et cinématographiques (Beyrouth)

The Institute of Scenic, Audiovisual and Cinematographic Studies IESAV is attached to the Faculty of Arts and Humanities of Saint Joseph University in Beirut, LEBANON. Since its creation in 1988, IESAV has remained a pioneering institution in audiovisual, cinematographic and theatrical studies in the Near East. IESAV offers three cycles of training: Bachelor, Master and Doctorate. Innovative educational strategies, specialized premises, state-of-the-art equipment and wide dissemination of its works ensure the theoretical and technical training essential to the personal and professional success of the student at IESAV.

The workshop :

The videos of IESAV students were produced as part of the Alternative Video course in Bachelor 3. Different approaches were offered to the students to encourage them to think differently about the video medium for which they have essentially a cinematographic approach. For this, it was necessary to break with the narrative to which they were accustomed in order to develop a new language. This was done throughout the semester in the experimentation of the videographic medium by a reflection on their political, social and cultural environment.

L’atelier :

In Lebanon, the political system is confessional and the coexistence between the various communities has for many years been extremely fragile. To this must be added chaos, violence and corruption that are part of every Lebanese’s daily life. Students were to observe the consequences of these living conditions in order to take a critical look at their daily lives. Based on their perceptions and the resulting emotions, each student expressed his feelings through videographic language.

François Yazbeck is interested in the issues of confinement and oppression exerted by the social and religious pressure on individual behaviors and their impact on the body.

Sirine Fattouh, teacher, alternative video course, Bachelor 3, Institute of Scenic, Audiovisual and Cinematographic studies, Beirut, Lebanon.

https://www.sirinefattouh.com/

In Utero / François Yazbeck / 2016 / 12’08

A discreetly navel-like introspection, welcome to me.
Technic : Video, surimpression, sound design, composed music.

Contact : +33(0)473 17 02 17 ou/or videoformes@videoformes.com

Institut d’études scéniques, audiovisuelles et cinématographiques (Beyrouth)

Institut d’études scéniques, audiovisuelles et cinématographiques (Beyrouth)

L’Institut d’études scéniques, audiovisuelles et cinématographiques IESAV est rattaché à la faculté des lettres et des sciences humaines de l’Université Saint-Joseph de Beyrouth, LIBAN. Depuis sa création en 1988, l’IESAV demeure un établissement pionnier dans les études audiovisuelles, cinématographiques et Théâtrales au Proche-Orient. L’IESAV offre trois cycles de formation: Licence, Master et Doctorat. Des stratégies éducatives innovantes, des locaux spécialisés, des équipements de pointe et une large diffusion de ses travaux garantissent une formation théorique et technique indispensables au succès personnel et professionnel de l’étudiant à l’IESAV.

L’atelier :

Les vidéos des étudiants de l’IESAV ont été réalisées dans le cadre du cours Vidéo alternative en licence 3. Différentes approches étaient proposées aux étudiants afin de les inciter à réfléchir différemment le médium de la vidéo dont ils ont essentiellement une approche cinématographique. Pour cela, il a fallu rompre avec la narration à laquelle ils étaient habitués afin d’élaborer un nouveau langage. Cela s’est fait tout au long du semestre dans l’expérimentation du médium vidéographique par une réflexion sur leur environnement politique, social et culturel.

L’atelier :

Au Liban le système politique est confessionnel et la coexistence entre les différentes communautés est depuis de longues années extrêmement fragiles. À cela s’ajoute le chaos, la violence et la corruption qui font partie du quotidien de chaque Libanais. Il s’agissait pour les étudiants d’observer les conséquences de ces conditions de vie afin de poser un regard critique sur leur quotidien. En partant de leurs perceptions et des émotions qui en découlent, chaque étudiant a exprimé ses sensations par le langage vidéographique.

François Yazbeck s’est intéressé aux problématiques de l’enfermement et de l’oppression exercés par la pression sociale et religieuse sur les comportements individuels et leur impact sur le corps.

Sirine Fattouh, enseignante, cours Vidéo alternative, licence 3, Institut d’études scéniques, audiovisuelles et cinématographiques, Beyrouth, Liban.
https://www.sirinefattouh.com/

In Utero / François Yazbeck / 2016 / 12’08

Une introspection discrètement nombriliste, bienvenue en moi.
Technique : Vidéo, surimpression, design sonore, musique composée.